Skip to content

Build a setup

Keep the gear that already works

Build around your starting point.

Choose what you want to make and tick what you already own. You get an initial planning checklist: the parts a setup like this needs, which are required, the connection chain, each reviewed record's documented requirements, and the gaps this site cannot fill yet.

Deterministic template, no automated guessing, no account. Your choices travel in the page address (a GET request) so the server can render the list; this site does not store them, but like any page address they sit in your browser history and in the host's standard access log. No prices are published yet, so costs show as "check at merchant".

What do you already own?
Documented pathway: exact records (optional)

Choosing an exact microphone or camera, plus your phone family or the workflow you want, lets the checklist look up published manufacturer rules and resolve each documented requirement. Generic ticks above never verify fit. Recording to a card and streaming to a computer are separate chains.

Exact items you already own (fit is checked against published rules; owning the microphone or camera does not remove its requirements):

Reset
Initial planning checklist

IRL streaming (walking, outdoors, on the move)

Not a verified complete kit: generic template plus the documented requirements of reviewed records

  • camera or phone
  • microphone
  • power
  • connectivity
  • streaming app or encoder
  • platform
  • 01
    Camera or phone

    Budget: your phone and the platform's mobile app. Mid: an action or pocket gimbal camera with a documented live-stream mode. Premium: a camera feeding an encoder. A generic "phone" or "camera" tick does not verify app, carrier or platform support.

    Reviewed records (alphabetical by brand, not ranked):

    • DJI Osmo Pocket 3 also needs (documented): microSD card (footage saved to card; card spec not stated); DJI 65W PD charger sold separately for stated fast-charge times
    • DJI Pocket 2 also needs (documented): microSD card (UHS-I Speed Grade 1 or 3, up to 256 GB); 5V/2A USB adapter for the stated charge time
    • GoPro HERO12 Black also needs (documented): microSD card (required, not included)
    Required
  • 02
    Microphone

    A wireless system whose receiver documents a connection to your phone or camera; the record lists the adapter its manufacturer requires.

    Reviewed records (alphabetical by brand, not ranked):

    • DJI Mic Mini also needs (documented): Mobile Phone Adapter (Lightning) sold separately for Lightning iPhones; 3.5 mm TRS camera audio cable for camera use (inclusion not stated)
    • RØDE Wireless GO (Gen 3) requirements and box contents not stated by the manufacturer page we checked
    • RØDE Wireless GO II requirements and box contents not stated by the manufacturer page we checked
    Required
  • 03
    Power bank with documented pass-through charging

    Streaming drains a phone fast. Pass-through must be documented by the manufacturer with its input-power condition; the only reviewed record needs a 20 W or stronger charger, which is not in its box.

    Reviewed records (alphabetical by brand, not ranked):

    Required
  • 04
    Mount, grip or gimbal

    Something to hold the phone or camera steadily with a place for the receiver. Gimbals document a phone size and weight range.

    Reviewed records (alphabetical by brand, not ranked):

    • DJI Osmo Mobile 7P also needs (documented): Phone within the stated weight, thickness and width range; DJI Mimo app for tracking and gimbal features (OS versions not stated on the specs page)
    • RØDE Phone Cage also needs (documented): A MagSafe iPhone, or a MagSafe-compatible case or accessory for other smartphones
    Required
  • 05
    Hotspot or modem (mid tier)

    Separates the stream's data from your phone's connection. Needs its own data plan. Not needed for a phone-only kit. No reviewed record exists yet.

    Gap: no reviewed record yet
  • 06
    Bonded encoder (premium tier)

    Combines several connections. Needs modems, SIMs, a camera-to-encoder cable and usually a paid service. One-time hardware and monthly service are separate costs.

    Reviewed records (alphabetical by brand, not ranked):

    • LiveU Solo PRO also needs (documented): External cellular modems and SIMs/data plans (not included; recurring cost, see provider); LiveU service plan (requirement implied by the Solo platform; plan terms not stated in the article captured)
    Optional

Recurring costs (separate from hardware)

  • Mobile data plan from a carrier (monthly)
  • Bonding or cloud service subscription, if you use a bonded encoder (monthly)
  • Extra SIMs for a hotspot or encoder (monthly)
Known one-time cost
Unknown — no prices published
Slots still to resolve
6
Documented requirements surfaced
13

This is an initial planning checklist, not a verified complete kit. Items you ticked as owned are generic: their exact model, app, carrier and power fit are not verified here. No prices are published on this site yet, so every cost is "check at the merchant"; the list does not claim the kit is within any budget.