A previous-generation product is not worse because it is older. It is worse only if the newer version changed something you need, or if software and support have moved on without it. This guide separates those two questions, then shows how to avoid the usual surprises: a missing charger, a tired battery, a feature that only exists on the newer model. Nothing here is a recommendation; each example states what the manufacturer documents and what to confirm with the seller.
Condition grades: what the words mean
Condition labels are not standardised. Each retailer defines its own scale, and a private seller may use the same words with no definition at all. The broad categories:
- New. Unopened, from an authorised seller, with the full manufacturer warranty.
- Open box. Opened returns or display stock sold as functionally new. The seller sets the warranty.
- Manufacturer refurbished. The maker (or its contracted refurbisher) tested and repaired the item and backs it with its own warranty.
- Seller refurbished. A third party repaired or cleaned it. Quality depends on that seller's process and warranty.
- Used. Sold with a cosmetic grade. Function may or may not be guaranteed, so read the definition and the return policy.
Three published systems we were able to open show how much the details differ.
Apple Certified Refurbished. Apple states each product gets full functional testing, cleaning and inspection, genuine Apple replacement parts where needed, and ships with its accessories, cables and operating system. Refurbished iOS devices also get a new battery and outer shell. Each carries Apple's standard one-year limited warranty. [1]
MPB (used camera gear). Five cosmetic grades: Like new, Excellent, Good, Well used and Heavily used, each describing wear, dust, marks or paint defects. MPB states the grade does not relate to the condition or inclusion of any accessories, and keeps a separate Spares & Repairs category for gear that no longer fully works. [2]
Back Market (refurbished electronics). Premium, Excellent, Good and Fair, separated by how visible scratches are and whether the screen is marked. Back Market states all devices are guaranteed 100% functional, Premium units have genuine batteries at 90% capacity or better, other grades at least 80%, with a one-year warranty and 30-day returns on phones. [3]
Two takeaways: a cosmetic grade says nothing about accessories unless the listing does, and battery health is only promised where a retailer states it.
B&H's Used Department ratings and KEH's grading scale are widely referenced, but we could not open those pages during this fact check, so read them directly before relying on either grade.
Worked examples
1. Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (3rd Gen) vs Scarlett 2i2 (4th Gen)
What the 4th Gen changed. Focusrite's 4th Gen page documents Auto Gain (sets input level automatically), Clip Safe (lowers gain when a signal is about to clip), two Air modes (Presence and Harmonic Drive) and a 69 dB gain range on mic and line inputs. The 3rd Gen page lists 56 dB and a single Air mode. Both have a USB-C connector using the USB 2.0 protocol and run on bus power; the 4th Gen page states 900 mA, the 3rd Gen page a port supplying 500 mA. [4][5]
Support as documented. The 3rd Gen page still lists macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows (Intel, AMD, Arm64) and iPadOS, without OS version numbers. Focusrite states Scarlett 3rd Gen gained Focusrite Control 2 support, and that on Windows the software keeps drivers current as operating systems change. [5][6] Version tables live in Focusrite's support centre, which we could not open; check it for your OS.
Commonly missing. The USB cable. The 4th Gen box lists a 1 m USB-C to USB-A cable; the 3rd Gen page did not list box contents. [4][5]
Ask the seller. Does it pass audio on your computer? Is the cable included? Was the software bundle code already redeemed?
2. Shure SM58
Generation and variants. A cardioid dynamic vocal microphone, 50 to 15,000 Hz, XLR connector, no on/off switch on the SM58-LC variant Shure's US page lists. Shure sells more than one SKU, so match the exact SKU in the listing. [7]
What changed. The SM58 has no newer generation, so the question is condition, not version.
Support as documented. A dynamic XLR microphone needs no driver or app, but it does need a mixer or interface with an XLR input (a three-pin balanced audio connector), not a USB port.
Commonly missing. Shure states no cable is furnished; the box holds an A25D stand adapter and a storage bag, both often absent from used listings. Shure lists an R59 replacement cartridge, the part a seller may have swapped. [7]
Ask the seller. Is the grille dented or the foam torn? Has the cartridge been replaced, and with what? Is the A25D clip included?
3. Canon EOS M50 Mark II
Generation. Canon's Asia specification page lists an APS-C sensor of about 24.1 effective megapixels, DIGIC 8 processor, 4K recording, HD slow motion up to 120p, Micro USB and HDMI Type D ports, a microphone input, the LP-E12 battery and SD/SDHC/SDXC (UHS-I) cards. The page marks the model discontinued. [8]
What changed from the original EOS M50. We could not open a Canon page for the original M50, so the differences are not documented here. Check Canon's pages for each model.
Support as documented. Built-in Wi-Fi, Bluetooth pairing with a phone, YouTube live streaming and upload to image.canon. The page does not state the 4K crop or frame rate; verify on Canon's support site if 4K matters. [8]
Commonly missing. The LP-E12 battery and charger, body cap, EF-M rear lens cap, and the Micro USB cable (not USB-C). Check that any kit lens is the exact EF-M model named.
Ask the seller. How many batteries, and are they Canon LP-E12 or third-party? Is the charger included? Is the vari-angle hinge loose? What is the shutter count?
4. Elgato Key Light (full-size) vs Key Light Air MK.2
What differs. Elgato's comparison page lists the Key Light at 2,800 lumens, up to 45 W, with a power supply and Master Mount L desk clamp in the box, controlled over Wi-Fi via Control Center and Stream Deck. The Key Light Air MK.2 is listed at up to 2,100 lumens, up to 30 W, powered over USB-C from a PD adapter or battery bank, with on-panel touch controls and a smaller clamp. Both cover 2,900 to 7,000 K. [9]
Support as documented. Elgato's Key Light page states Control Center needs Windows 10 (64-bit) or later or macOS 13 or newer, and that first setup needs a Wi-Fi-enabled PC, Mac, iOS or Android device. It lists Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz. [10] Elgato has since released a Key Light MK.2; we could not open either revision's specification page, so ask which one a listing is and whether it needs a 2.4 GHz network.
Commonly missing. The power supply (a dedicated 45 W brick, not USB), the Master Mount L clamp and the cable clips Elgato lists in the box. [10]
Ask the seller. Is the original power supply included? The mount? Does it still join Control Center after a factory reset?
5. Apple MacBook Air (M1, 2020)
Generation. Apple's specification page lists the M1 chip (8-core CPU, 7- or 8-core GPU), 8 GB memory standard (16 GB configurable), two Thunderbolt / USB 4 ports, a headphone jack, a 13.3-inch 2560 by 1600 display and a 49.9 Wh battery. The box held a 30 W USB-C adapter and a 2 m USB-C cable. [11]
What changed. Later models moved to M2, M3, M4 and M5 chips; for a used buyer the first question is OS support.
Support as documented. Apple lists the MacBook Air (M1, 2020) as compatible with macOS Sonoma and macOS Tahoe 26, the current major release at the time of this check. [12][13]
Commonly missing. The 30 W adapter and USB-C cable.
Ask the seller. Battery cycle count and maximum capacity (shown in System Settings)? Which memory and storage configuration, since neither can be upgraded later? Has Find My been turned off and Activation Lock removed? Is it Apple Certified Refurbished (one-year warranty) or seller refurbished?
6. Zoom H1n vs Zoom H1essential
What the H1essential changed. Zoom's H1n page documents 24-bit recording up to 96 kHz, an onboard limiter, a gain dial and a Micro USB port. The H1essential page documents 32-bit float recording (no gain setting needed), USB-C, microSDXC cards up to 1 TB, and audio guidance menus for blind and visually impaired users. Both run on two AAA batteries, about 10 hours on alkalines. [14][15]
Support as documented. Zoom marks the H1n discontinued. Both can act as a USB microphone; the H1n also lists a 2-in/2-out interface mode at 44.1/48 kHz, 16-bit. [14][15]
Commonly missing. Zoom states the H1n box held only a Quick Start Guide; windscreen, AC adapter, USB cable and case were a separate pack, so expect a used H1n without them. The H1essential page did not list box contents. [14][15]
Ask the seller. Does the battery door latch close? Is a microSD card included and readable? Does the Micro USB (H1n) or USB-C (H1essential) port still connect?
7. Logitech (Blue) Yeti
Generation. Logitech's page describes a three-capsule USB microphone with multiple pickup patterns, headphone output, gain control and mute button. Basic recording works without drivers; Blue VO!CE effects need the free G HUB software. [16]
What changed. Yeti X, Yeti Nano and Yeti GX are separate products, not revisions.
Support as documented. The page we opened lists no OS versions, sample rate, bit depth or body connector type. When a manufacturer page is this thin, the seller's photos and answers matter more. [16]
Commonly missing. The USB cable (Logitech states one is included new) and the desk stand, which unscrews from the body.
Ask the seller. Which cable does it need (ask for a photo of the port underneath)? Are the stand and thumbscrews included? Do the headphone jack and mute button work?
A checklist before you pay
- Find the exact model and generation on the manufacturer's site and match the SKU in the listing.
- Check the manufacturer's current OS or app compatibility list, not a forum post.
- Read the seller's grade definition. If there is none, assume cosmetic only.
- List what the manufacturer says is in the box and ask which items are present.
- For anything with a battery, ask for capacity or cycle count, or budget for a replacement.
- Confirm the return window and who pays return shipping.
Age alone is not a verdict. A discontinued recorder with a working port can serve for years; a current interface sold without its cable and licence codes may not. Check the current price at the merchant, then decide on the documented facts.
Sources
- www.apple.com/shop/refurbished/about — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: Apple Certified Refurbished testing, replacement parts, new battery and outer shell for iOS devices, accessories and OS included, one-year limited warranty, AppleCare option, white box.
- intercom.help/mpbcom-us/en/articles/12210994-mpb-condition… — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: MPB's five grades (Like new, Excellent, Good, Well used, Heavily used), cosmetic basis, grade does not cover accessories, Spares & Repairs category.
- www.backmarket.com/en-us/c/smartphones/what-are-back-market-pho… — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: Premium/Excellent/Good/Fair definitions, 100% functional guarantee, 90% and 80% battery capacity minimums, one-year warranty, 30-day returns.
- focusrite.com/products/scarlett-2i2 — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: Scarlett 2i2 4th Gen Auto Gain, Clip Safe, Presence and Harmonic Drive Air modes, 69 dB gain range, USB-C with USB 2.0 protocol, 900 mA bus power, box contains 1 m USB-C to USB-A cable, Windows/macOS processor support.
- focusrite.com/products/scarlett-2i2-3rd-gen — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen 56 dB gain range, Air mode, USB-C with USB 2.0 protocol, macOS/Windows/iPadOS listed, 500 mA bus power requirement, no box contents listed, not marked discontinued.
- us.focusrite.com/articles/more-interfaces-now-compatible-with… — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: Scarlett 3rd Gen (and Clarett+, Clarett USB, Scarlett 2nd Gen 6i6/18i8/18i20) gained Focusrite Control 2 support; on Windows the software keeps drivers current.
- www.shure.com/en-US/products/microphones/sm58 — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: SM58-LC cardioid dynamic, 50 to 15,000 Hz, XLR, no on/off switch, no cable furnished, A25D stand adapter and 95A2313 storage bag in box, R59 replacement cartridge.
- http://asia.canon/asia/en/consumer/eos-m50-mark-ii/body/specification?category=&subCategory= — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: EOS M50 Mark II 24.1 MP APS-C, DIGIC 8, 4K recording, HD 120p, Micro USB, HDMI Type D, mic input, LP-E12 battery, SD UHS-I, Wi-Fi/Bluetooth, YouTube live streaming, image.canon, discontinued status, 4K crop and frame rate not listed.
- www.elgato.com/us/en/explorer/products/lighting/key-light-a… — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: Key Light 2,800 lm, up to 45 W, included power supply, Master Mount L; Key Light Air MK.2 up to 2,100 lm, up to 30 W, USB-C PD power, touch controls, smaller clamp; both 2,900 to 7,000 K.
- www.elgato.com/us/en/p/key-light — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: Key Light Control Center requirements (Windows 10 64-bit or later, macOS 13 or newer), setup device requirement, Wi-Fi 2.4/5 GHz, box contents (Key Light, Master Mount L, power supply, Quick Start Guide, cable clips).
- support.apple.com/en-us/111883 — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: MacBook Air (M1, 2020) chip, memory, storage, ports, display, 49.9 Wh battery, box contents (30 W USB-C adapter, 2 m USB-C cable).
- support.apple.com/en-us/105113 — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: MacBook Air (M1, 2020) listed as compatible with macOS Sonoma.
- support.apple.com/en-us/122867 — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: MacBook Air (M1, 2020) listed as compatible with macOS Tahoe 26.
- zoomcorp.com/en/us/handheld-recorders/handheld-recorders/… — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: H1n 24-bit/96 kHz, limiter, gain dial, Micro USB, 2 AAA with about 10 hours on alkaline, microSD up to 32 GB, 2-in/2-out interface mode, box contains only Quick Start Guide, SPH-1n accessory pack separate, discontinued.
- zoomcorp.com/en/us/handheld-recorders/handheld-recorders/… — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: H1essential 32-bit float, USB-C, microSDXC up to 1 TB, 2 AAA with about 10 hours on alkaline, USB microphone mode, accessibility audio guidance, box contents not listed.
- www.logitech.com/en-us/products/streaming-gear/yeti-premium-u… — opened 2026-10-12 — supports: Yeti three-capsule array, multiple pickup patterns, headphone output, gain control, mute button, driver-free basic use, G HUB required for Blue VO!CE, USB cable included; OS versions, sample rate and connector type not stated.